Welcome to the Idaho POST certifications page. This resource is designed to provide clear and concise information about the various certifications offered by POST for law enforcement personnel in Idaho. Whether you’re a new recruit, a seasoned officer seeking advancement, or simply interested in understanding the standards for peace officers in our state, this page will be your comprehensive guide.
There are 5 steps to obtain a basic certification in Idaho:
1. Be employed by an Idaho Law Enforcement Agency
2. Successfully graduate a POST basic academy
3. Complete at least 40 hours of field training with your agency
4. Complete a 6 month probation period that starts at date of hire
5. Your employing agency will submit an application for basic certification.
Please refer to our job postings for open criminal justice positions throughout the state. If there is a specific agency you’re interested in, we encourage you to reach out to them directly, as not all openings make it to that page. Once hired, your agency will work with POST on your behalf through the application process. Your application will be the first step in attending a basic academy, and moving towards completing the above 5 steps.
Idaho POST does not have a self-sponsor option but, individuals can attend one of the four POST approved college programs to complete the patrol or detention basic academy requirements. This option is paid for by the student, and there is a 3 year time limit to utilize training towards certification.
Applicants have 12 months to become certified. Emergency communications officers have 18 months. Idaho Statute §19-5109(4)
For basic hiring and certification requirements please see IDAPA 11.11.01.050
Every patrol, detention, and emergency communications officer must obtain 40 hours of continuing training related to law enforcement to maintain certification. The cycle starts on January 1 following your certification date and goes through December 31 of the following year. For example, if an officer was certified on September 2, 2019 their first training cycle will be January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2021.
Officers that hold a peace officer certification have an additional requirement to complete a minimum 24 hours of training in the topics listed below (24 hours of required topics + 16 hours of additional LE topics = 40 hours of required training):
- Firearms: 8 hours
- Arrest Techniques/Defensive Tactics: 8 hours
- Emergency Vehicle Operations: 4 hours
- Legal Updates: 4 hours
Training hours are tracked through the Mandatory Training Report System (MTRS). Each Idaho patrol, detention, or emergency communications agency has access to MTRS. Within each agency there are designated staff that can pull their agency’s training hours.
Individuals can also submit a public records request to obtain their training record.
**It is highly recommended that you locate the designated individual within your agency to pull your records. This will be most expedient way to access your information.
Any education that pertains to law enforcement to include, but not limited to, topics such as: legal, first aid, tactical, firearms, agency policy, EVOC, even cultural studies.
There are also courses that can be taken for POST credit through the eLearning portal.
You can access the eLearning portal here.
Failure to meet the mandatory training hours requirement will result in suspension of certification. The certification will no longer hold police powers until the hours are met. Officers will need to work with the certifications staff to have their certificates reinstated.