Please see below for our most asked questions. These answers are curated directly from POST subject matter experts and give you quick insight to our POST processes. If you can’t find what you’re looking for, please see the Contact Us page to find contact information for each department.
There are two ways to become a certified officer in Idaho. The first is to be hired by an Idaho Law Enforcement Agency. They will sponsor you through the basic training process.
The second is to put yourself through basic training by attending one of the four colleges in Idaho that teach the POST Basic Patrol and Detention Academy curriculum; Idaho State University, College of Western Idaho, College of Southern Idaho, and North Idaho College. If you choose this route, you will have to be hired on with an agency within three years from your graduation date to utilize this training in obtaining your basic certification. You will be responsible for tuition with these institutions.
In addition to basic training, an officer must complete a 6 month probation period, as well as field training with a law enforcement agency. This process takes about a year to complete. Once completed you will be eligible for basic certification.
For more details on the requirements for certification in Idaho, please refer to IDAPA 11.11.01.050 starting on page 7.
First, you’ll need to be hired by a law enforcement agency. They will sponsor you through the certification process. Your agency will decide whether they feel it is best to allow you to go through the challenge process or send you through an academy. The majority of Idaho agencies opt for the challenge process.
For the challenge process you will need to provide:
- Previous POST (or your state’s equivalent) training records listing your complete LE employment history, certifications, & training. This must include your separation date from your current agency.
- Basic academy training curriculum with course hours to verify equivalency to Idaho’s basic academy. If the training you’ve completed out of state does not meet Idaho POST requirements, you will have to attend a POST basic academy to be certified in Idaho.
Once minimum requirements are met and the application is cleared, you must pass the academy equivalency test. This test is called the POST Challenge Exam. Upon passage of the Challenge Exam, you will need to complete the following:
- A minimum of 40 hours of field training within your agency/facility
- A six-month probation period with your agency
- Application for certification with POST
For more detailed information on the above procedure please refer to POST procedure 12.15
Yes. Idaho POST has an eLearning portal where you can access study material to prepare you for the challenge exam. In order to access this site you’ll have to be employed with an Idaho agency and have your unique POST ID ready (POST ID’s are issued upon receipt of an employment form submitted by your agency.)
Please note this material is not required but HIGHLY recommend to be completed before taking your challenge exam.
At the following link you will find LE openings available throughout the State.
If there is an agency you’re interested in, please contact them directly as not all open positions will make it to this page: https://post.idaho.gov/job-postings/
Patrol – 14.5 weeks
Detention – 6 weeks
Corrections – 4 weeks
Emergency Communications – 2 weeks
Felony Probation & Parole – 5.5 weeks
Adult Misdemeanor Probation – 3.5 weeks
Juvenile Detention – 3 weeks
Juvenile Probation – 3 weeks
Juvenile Corrections – 2 weeks
Every patrol, detention, and emergency communications officer must obtain 40 hours of continuing training related to law enforcement to maintain certification. The cycle starts on January 1 following your certification date and goes through December 31 of the following year. For example, if an officer was certified on September 2, 2019 their training cycle will be January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2021.
Those who hold a Peace Officer Certification have an additional requirement to complete a minimum 24 hours of training in the topics listed below (24 hours of required topics + 16 hours of additional LE topics = 40 hours of required training):
- Firearms: 8 hours
- Arrest Techniques/Defensive Tactics: 8 hours
- Emergency Vehicle Operations: 4 hours
- Legal Updates: 4 hours
Training hours are tracked through the Mandatory Training Report System (MTRS). Each Idaho patrol, detention, or emergency communications agency has access to MTRS. Within each agency there are designated staff that can pull your training hours.
You can also submit a public records request to obtain your records.
**It is highly recommended that you locate the designated individual within your agency to pull your records. This will be most expedient way to access your information.
Any education that pertains to law enforcement to include, but not limited to topics such as: legal, first aid, tactical, firearms, agency policy, EVOC, even cultural studies.
There are also courses that can be taken for POST credit through the eLearning portal.
You can access the eLearning portal here.
MTRS hours are entered internally by your agency. If you attended an in-service training that was NOT POST approved, contact your agency about the missing hours.
If you attended a training that was POST approved and the hours are not reflected, contact the instructor, the hosting agency, and your regional coordinator to discuss the roster and missing hours.
Find the contact information for your regional coordinator here.
Failure to meet the mandatory training hours requirement will result in suspension of your certification. Your certification will no longer hold police powers until the hours are met. You will need to work with the certifications staff to have your certificates reinstated.
Higher Level Certification
Please see our Higher Level Breakdown for the requirements for each of the certificates. It gives a detailed breakdown of each discipline’s requirements. If you do not know how many training hours you have, see the tab above titled “How can I check my hours”
Eager to climb the ranks? Before diving into your higher certification application, take a moment to double-check your qualifications. Our online self-assessment tool called the Higher-Level Breakdown makes it easy to ensure you meet all the requirements, saving you valuable time and avoiding disappointment. By being proactive, you not only streamline the process but also demonstrate your commitment to excellence and upholding the integrity of the standards. So, double-check, confirm, and apply with confidence.
To apply, please complete the Application for Certification. Once completed, email it to firstname.lastname@example.org
To avoid processing delays, please include these documents with your application:
- A copy of your current driver’s license.
- Official college transcripts, scanned copy will be accepted (no sealed envelope needed). Unofficial transcripts cannot be accepted. If you’d like to check if POST already has a copy call us at 208.884.7250.
Courses meeting supervisor training standards are designated with codes of 600 or higher. These courses often focus on frontline supervisors, including FTOs and sergeants. Your Regional Training Coordinator can confirm course codes and assist with training inquiries.
Management training courses, designed to develop skills in team, department, or event management, are assigned codes of 700 or higher. These courses fulfill management training standards. Contact your Regional Training Coordinator to verify course codes or address any training inquiries.
Executive training courses, typically designed for chiefs, sheriffs, and those seeking to develop leadership skills, are identified by codes of 800 or higher. These courses meet executive training standards. Contact your Regional Training Coordinator for code verification or training inquiries.
Yes, however use of POST facilities by external entities is limited to state and local law enforcement agencies or POST approved law enforcement certification programs. Facilities are scheduled annually according to priority of use in the following order:
1. POST Basic academies/ISP training
2. Agency Academies
3. POST/ISP in-service
4. Agency in-service.
Please reach out to our Facilities Coordinator for availability of our facilities.
For more information about priority and scheduling refer to POST Procedure 12.30.
Idaho Law enforcement agencies may use POST facilities, subject to availability.
There are certain facility uses that may incur a cost. This will be addressed during scheduling.
Dorm rooms are $20.00 per night. They are double occupancy.