R2-309 Instructor Development – Ada CSO

Course Number: R2 309

Description:  Instructor Development

This class is required for any person who wishes to become a POST certified instructor.

The new course curriculum covers adult learning, building thinking skills in students, paralanguage, assessing student understanding of class material, and writing lesson plans. Each Student will be videotaped for self-evaluation.

All registration applications will be vetted by POST for approval to attend this training. Once an applicant has been vetted, an e-mail will be sent to the applicant confirming registration

It is vital that the applicant provide a valid and correct e-mail address on the on-line registration form.

Pre-requisites for attendance:

      • Must be employed with an Idaho Law Enforcement Agency
      • Completion of the required on-line training prior to class start date

NOTE:

POST has changed the policy requiring 3 years of LE experience to attend the Instructor Development class. However the following registration priority policy will be followed:

All applicants with three (3) years of LE experience and/or POST certification will have registration priority over any applicant with less than three (3) years LE experience regardless of when the registration was received.

If the LE experience is with an agency out of state the following documentation is required:

        • a copy of your previous POST record which shows years of service
        • or a letter from the previous Agency Head (on Agency letterhead) verifying years of service including the hire date and separation date

Any registration request that does not meet the 3 year minimum LE experience or does not have a POST certification will be placed on a waiting list to be registered on the registration closing date if seats remain available.

 

The participants are required to bring to this class certain equipment and presentations:

  • A laptop or other electronic media device with a USB port.
  • The Instructor development manual either as a hard copy or downloaded on a media device
  • A device equipped to video record a 2-3 minute presentation for self-evaluation (i.e. camera, iPhone, iPad etc)
  • Materials needed for your classroom presentation

Please note that POST will no longer provide printed classroom manuals to participants in this course. It is the participants responsibility to download the class instruction sheet and classroom manual, links are provided throughout this announcement.

 

COURSE MATERIALS DOWNLOAD LINKS ARE SHOWN BELOW.

Classroom Handouts

Class Information and the Instructor Development classroom Manual

 

Dates: July 11 – 15, 2022

Time:    0800-1700

Credit Hours:   40

Location:

Ada County Sheriff’s Office
7200 Barrister Drive

Boise, Idaho 83702

 

Cost:     $ 300.00       Payable to Idaho POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)

Deadline: registration will close June 27,  2022
NOTE CLASSES FILL QUICKLY – this class is limited to 24 participants.

Master Instructor: Brianna Irving

Instructors:

Andrea Dearden
Shannon Garza

POST Coordinator:   Jeff Sklar

Registration Details: Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.

Remarks:

ALL PARTICIPANTS MUST BE VETTED BY POST before registration is completed.

PARTICIPANTS MUST DOWNLOAD THE COURSE MATERIALS, LINKS ARE PROVIDED THROUGHOUT THIS ANNOUNCEMENT.

Once vetted for attendance the PARTICIPANT MUST COMPLETE THE PRE-REQUISITE COURSE WORK PRIOR TO THE BEGINNING OF CLASS. The LINK FOR THE PRE-COURSE WORK will be sent by e-mail to the student after the registration has been approved.

 

R2306 POST Firearms Instructor

Course Number: R2 306

Description:

BASIC FIREARMS (Handgun only) INSTRUCTOR COURSE

This is the P.O.S.T. Approved BASIC FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR COURSE for LE personnel interested in becoming a P.O.S.T. Certified Firearms INSTRUCTOR.  Upon completion of this course attendees should have the skills necessary to instruct officers.  Completion of this course is required for the high liability endorsement required for P.O.S.T. Basic Handgun Instructor certification.

This course will cover the new curriculum changes made to the Firearms Instructor Program.  Participants will conduct presentations, pass performance skills testing, pass a written exam, and exit qualifications.  It is strongly recommended that students review the Instructor Development Course materials prior to attending this course as questions from the written Instructor Development Course training material will also be included in the tests.

NOTE: THERE IS NO REMEDIAL TRAINING TIME.

Any Student with repeated safety violations will receive a failure.  Any failure in the course will result in removal from the class.

Registration PREREQUISITES, (not subject to waiver)

  • 3 YEARS Full-time law enforcement experience
  • Possess a current or previous POST Discipline Certification
    • i.e. Patrol, Detention, Corrections, etc.
  • Successful completion of POST 40 hour INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT
  • Perform 100% of the physical requirements of this course. Injured students will not be permitted to attend or complete the course.

COURSE REQUIREMENTS for all students

  • TEST IN with a qualifying score of at least 95% NO MISSES on the POST Firearms short course.
  • Maximum of 3 attempts to qualify at test in and test out.
  • All test in failures will be dismissed from the class.
  • 100% Attendance is required for completion of this 40-hour course
  • TEST OUT with successful completion of the written exam and exit qualifications.

Firearms_Instructor_Student_Information_Sheet

Firearms_Inst_Student_Pre-Course_Checklist

WRITTEN TEST INFORMATION– The written test will come from the student manual. Students attending this class must download the student manual prior to the class. Download the student manual here –Student Manual Link

There is no allowance for later make-up qualification attempts on the exit qualification. If a student fails the exit qualification- they fail the course. There will be no make-up written testing exams either. Failure to pass the written exam results in a failure of this course.

For test-in failures only there will be an $ 80.00 fee assessed for costs related to the first day. If the course tuition invoice has been paid, a tuition credit less the $80.00 fee will be issued.

For any other failure resulting in dismissal the full tuition cost will remain due; no refund or tuition rebate will be available.

Dates:   August 22 – 26, 2022

Time:  0800-1700

Credit Hours: 40

Location:

IDOC-KUNA Range
13900 South Pleasant Valley
Kuna, Idaho 83634

 

Cost:    $ 400.00      Payable to Idaho POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)

Deadline:  August 8, 2022

Instructors:  To Be Determined

POST Master Instructor:   

POST Instructors:

Registration Details: Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.

NOTE:

Attendance at this training does not guarantee Instructor certification and endorsement.  To obtain a POST certified instructor endorsement in this High Liability discipline additional training requirements must be met.  Please refer to the document link below.

https://post.idaho.gov//wp-content/uploads/sites/19/documents/forms/I//High%20Liability%20Endorsement%20Instructor%20Requirements.pdf

 

Remarks:  This course DOES NOT cover shotgun. Shotgun instructor training is provided through the new POST Shotgun Instructor Course, which is a separate 3 day course.

*Students will receive training in the application and use of a tourniquet.  Students will participate in drills applying the tourniquet to themselves and fellow students, so a training tourniquet instead of an operational one may be preferable, however, that is the students choice.

R2-309 Instructor Development – Boise PD

Course Number: R2 309

Description:  Instructor Development

This class is required for any person who wishes to become a POST certified instructor.

The new course curriculum covers adult learning, building thinking skills in students, paralanguage, assessing student understanding of class material, and writing lesson plans. Each Student will be videotaped for self-evaluation.

All registration applications will be vetted by POST for approval to attend this training. Once an applicant has been vetted, an e-mail will be sent to the applicant confirming registration and providing the links necessary for completing the pre-requisite course.

It is vital that the applicant provide a valid and correct e-mail address on the on-line registration form.

NOTE:

POST has changed the policy requiring 3 years of LE experience to attend the Instructor Development class. However the following registration priority policy will be followed:

All applicants with three (3) years of LE experience and/or POST certification will have registration priority over any applicant with less than three (3) years LE experience regardless of when the registration was received.

If the LE experience is with an agency out of state the following documentation is required:

        • a copy of your previous POST record which shows years of service
        • or a letter from the previous Agency Head (on Agency letterhead) verifying years of service including the hire date and separation date

Any registration request that does not meet the 3 year minimum LE experience or does not have a POST certification will be placed on a waiting list to be registered on the registration closing date if seats remain available.

 

The participants are required to bring to this class certain equipment and presentations:

  • A laptop or other electronic media device with a USB port.
  • The Instructor development manual either as a hard copy or downloaded on a media device
  • A device equipped to video record a 2-3 minute presentation for self-evaluation (i.e. camera, iPhone, iPad etc)
  • Materials needed for your classroom presentation

Please note that POST will no longer provide printed classroom manuals to participants in this course. It is the participants responsibility to download the class instruction sheet and classroom manual, links are provided throughout this announcement.

COURSE MATERIALS DOWNLOAD LINKS ARE SHOWN BELOW.

2022 POST Instructor Development Overview

2022 POST Instructor Development Student Manual

Instructor Development Course Agenda 2022

Dates:  May 9 – 13, 2022

Time:    0800-1700

Credit Hours:   40

Location:

Boise PD
333 Mark Stall Place

Boise, Idaho 83704

 

Cost:     $ 300.00       Payable to Idaho POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)

Deadline: registration will close April 25,  2022
NOTE CLASSES FILL QUICKLY – this class is limited to 24 participants.

Master Instructor: Greg Hoffman

Instructors:

Andrea Dearden
Ken Jenkins

POST Coordinator:   Jeff Sklar

Registration Details: Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.

Remarks:

ALL PARTICIPANTS MUST BE VETTED BY POST before registration is completed.

PARTICIPANTS MUST DOWNLOAD THE COURSE MATERIALS, LINKS ARE PROVIDED THROUGHOUT THIS ANNOUNCEMENT.

 

R1-306 POST Firearms Instructor refresher Coeur d’Alene

Course Number:     R1 306

Description:  FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR Refresher

This one day instructor refresher course will cover new curriculum updates made to the Firearms Instructor Program and case law review.   Attendance is limited to current or previous POST endorsed Firearms Instructors.

Registration PREREQUISITES, (not subject to waiver)

  • Possess a current or previous POST Firearms Instructor endorsement

Date      June 14, 2022

Time:    0800-1700

Credit Hours:    8

Location:

ISP District 1 Range
22900 Old Highway 95
Athol, Idaho

 

Cost: $ 40.00        Payable to Idaho POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)

 

Deadline:   registration closes  June 6, 2022   Register early this class is limited to 24 students

POST Master Instructors:        

Steve Harris – Retd.

Johann Schmitz,  CDA PD

Justin Scotch,       ISP

 

Registration:    use the link provided below

Remarks:

 

R4 Handgun Combatives Instructor Development Course- CANCELLED

Course Number: R4309A

Course Description:

Focus:  Beginning or current firearms instructors tasked with implementing tactical, handgun training within any agency.

This course provides your agency instructors with the knowledge and the “how-to’s” to teach your officers to survive against threats where shooting and hitting another person means your officers get to go home today.  It is about REAL-WORLD tactics that have been proven over decades and through history to keep officers alive during those violent, sudden, vicious, and short-lived police firefights.

The emphasis of this course is “how to teach” your cops to fight with their handgun utilizing only cutting edge tactics and training. You know the real-world of handgun fights is about hitting an armed Imminent Threat who is often contact-to-talking-distance away.  In the real-world, officers are often late to a gunfight–because it is the suspect driving the event and forcing the officer to respond.  Officers’ tactics and fire employment theory must support this reality of being close to the Imminent Threat who’s trying to kill them, of being late, of the driving need to put rounds on-target on-time, in-time.  Officers face the reality of being physically assaulted by a suspect and then having the need to respond to the suspect’s extreme actions with deadly force while still struggling with the suspect.

Too many “instructor” courses turn out to be glorified end-user courses where the instructor becomes a better shooter–and fails to become a better “instructor.”  NOT THIS COURSE…our prime goal is to train your agency instructor in how to teach.  While some instructional time is taken in “how to shoot,” the core of the course is in training police instructors in how to teach their officers to be tactically sound while hitting the target in police-combat conditions.  This course utilizes a “building block” approach, where the instructor-candidate will move progressively through basic tactical instruction into advanced instruction in police fire employment–including Live-Fire Combatives where officers are prepared in a live-fire environment to physically defend against assault and respond with deadly force.  Instructor candidates will, at the conclusion of training, be capable of developing and presenting sound tactical and close-combatives training to agency officers that is safe, documented, and most of all, effective.

CUTTING EDGE TRAINING’s Handgun Combatives remains the only program of its kind–“reverse-engineered” to achieve survival goals.  We studied how police officers are murdered and assaulted in the real-world.  Then we put that knowledge together with how the human being inside the uniform actually reacts in that pressure-filled, life and death environment, and created a training system that has changed the law enforcement community’s understanding of how to put bullets on-target in-time in order to survive.  There are no “game philosophies” designed to speed up the shooter’s firing rate at the expense of life-saving tactics and hit accuracy.  The emphasis is solely on real-world gunfights:  recognizing the Imminent Threat’s behavior early enough to make a difference, reacting tactically to avoid being hit while hitting a suspect with combat accuracy, significantly affecting his or her ability to remain an imminent threat.  Finally, this course also emphasizes your very real need to defend your actions in the inevitable post-shooting aftermath.

We teach your agency instructors how to train your officers to fight with their handguns in the real-world…Tactical…Practical…Real-World…Defensible!

Course Content:

  • Comprehensive Safety Requirements for Live-Fire Training Involving “Movement-to-Hit,” Unusual Shooting Positions, and “Live-Fire Combatives” Training
  • Training Constitutional Limits of Police Deadly Force
  • Training Unintentional Discharge Proofing Drills
  • Training “Applied OODA Combatives Theory”©
  • Training Firearms Employment Theory
  • Training Firearms Handling Theory and Methods
  • Training Officers in Effective Deadly Force Response
  • Training Movement-and-Hitting
  • Training Beginning-to-Advanced Real-World Live-Fire Close Combatives
  • Training Unusual Shooting Positions
  • Training Survival Use of the Barricade
  • Documentation of Training Requirements for Successful Defense of the Training Program

This completely different process of bringing ordinary officers into the category of “competent police trainer” is something you’d expect from CUTTING EDGE TRAINING.  We are the original, and, so far, the only police trainers to bring you training that is:

  • Outcome-based:  There are no techniques trained in our system…only “Integrated Combatives Problem-Solving”© featuring the “Universal Rules and Principles of Combatives,”© and “Applied OODA Theory.”©  The only determination of whether the officer’s method of defense and control was “correct” is that the officer was not injured and survived, and his/her force response was legally reasonable and within policy–just like in the real-world.
  • Gross-motor skills dependent:  We are the only system that depends solely upon gross-motor skills in our combatives problem-solving efforts.
  • Non-Technical:  “Techniques” are fine-motor skills that routinely fail in the street.  We teach no techniques because techniques only work against willing police officers on the mat and small children.  Instead, we teach you to solve your combatives problems using naturally hard-wired solutions that are easy for every officer, regardless of level of ability.

Developed from the street “in,” NOT from the live-fire range “out.”

This is contextually-correct training at its highest–without gaming and wishful thinking.  This is about hitting people with bullets who need to be hit RIGHT NOW, while avoiding being shot yourself.  If you do it on the street, then it must be practiced in training.  If it is too dangerous to do in training, then you shouldn’t do it on the street.  We bring street reality and functionality “in” to the live-fire range training for your benefit.

Military applicability:  This course benefits military personnel as well–the experiences of police officers in up-close-and-very-personal shootings are being experienced by our soldiers, Marines, sailors, and airmen in this Global War on Terror.  While this course focuses on “police gunfights,” the concepts and training are applicable to anyone who carries a handgun into a battle where any range of conflict is possible.

_______________________________________

The Highest Evolution of Law Enforcement Instructor/TRAIN-THE-TRAINER Training!

CUTTING EDGE TRAINING provides the highest evolution of instructor training yet to be devised.  We can boldly say this because we have devoted years to the evolution of how we train the trainers of law enforcement.  We were perplexed that all instructor courses seem to be simply advanced user classes where the participant is expected to fully master the material, teach for five to fifteen minutes at the end of the seminar, and then receive an instructor certificate.  We have worked and changed and fine-tuned our TRAIN-THE-TRAINER process until we have what is now the finest method of teaching your trainers to be coaches and leaders in the classroom, mat room, and live-fire range.

These TRAIN-THE-TRAINER courses provide an entirely new way of approaching the creation of an agency instructor of police.  This involves:

  • Changing the “Trainer-as-the-Source-of-All-Knowledge” Paradigm.  Instructors are trained to adopt the philosophy that “another person cannot be taught to fight like me.”  Everyone has different abilities, strengths, and aptitudes.  No one is alike–and we all react to threat differently.  Instructors become a resource in helping their officers problem-solve their combative solution.  Through this, the individual officer learns what works and what doesn’t for him or her when solving the combative problems they face.
  • Training to Teach to a Legal Standard.  Very few courses teach the constitutional basis of officers’ authority to employ force against a resisting, fleeing, or aggressing offender.  Each CUTTING EDGE TRAINING course is predicated upon the foundation of teaching officers “when” to respond with force as well as “how to justify and articulate their force response.”  Every TRAIN-THE-TRAINER seminar not only contains a block of instruction dedicated to the subject of the lawful response to resistance and flight, but instructor-candidates are required to integrate the “objective reasonableness” standard into their teaching curricula throughout the week.
  • Training How to Teach the Layering of Skills and Concepts.  The fundamental basis of what we are attempting to accomplish in this training is first addressed in the classroom.  With an intellectual understanding of the task at hand, including “when it is permissible to respond with force,” the class then moves to the mat or range.  Each new physical skill builds upon the problem-solving successes of the prior exercises and drills, building confidence and competence in the learners.  Upon successful completion of the training task, the officers will have properly repeated the fundamentals of the force option possibly hundreds of times, creating a core competency that will translate to effective force responses in the field.  Each topic creates the foundation for the next (e.g., learning Defensive Tactics/Combatives creates the foundation for Police GroundDefense, which in turns prepares them Weapon Retention, and so on.).  Soon, all combatives situations are just problems to be solved through the application of the problem-solving methods.
  • Training How to Teach Problem-Solving for Combatives.  Subject control, officer defense, fighting, combat.  Whatever you call it, physically controlling at any level another person without that person’s cooperation has never—and never will be—about applying “techniques.”  Instead, instructor-candidates are trained to teach their officers how to problem-solve effectively in combative situations through “Integrated Combative Problem-Solving”© employing the “Universal Rules and Principles of Combatives.”©  The “layering concept” permits officers to work out how they will solve each layer of the tasks as effectively as possible for that particular officer’s attributes.
  • Training How to Teach “Applied OODA Theory.”  Many officers have heard of Col. Boyd’s theory of combat decision-making.  Few actually understand it, however, to be more than a simple explanation of reaction-response.  We not only train your instructors to teach that this theory is about getting inside the suspect’s decision-making cycles, but about controlling the relative perception of time of the fight.  Beyond theory, CUTTING EDGE TRAINING is alone in the world in training how to apply OODA Theory through classroom instruction, drills, and layered exercises.

Our TRAIN-THE-TRAINER courses are the premier “instructor-certification” program for your agency trainers to learn how to train your officers in the reasonable and effective force response and suspect control.

_______________________________________

Recertification Program for Instructors

There are NO recertification requirements by CUTTING EDGE TRAINING for instructors.  “Recertification” is and should be a voluntary training activity by the agency and instructor.  While it is prudent to seek to deepen understanding of the course material and get updated information, we believe this is solely a decision that should be made by the instructors and their Command Staff.

Dates: May 2-6, 2022

Times: 0900-1700

Credit Hours: 40

Location: Bonneville County Sheriff’s Office Training Annex, 577 D St., Idaho Falls, ID 83402

Cost: $595.00, after April 1, 2022- $695.00

(Attendees are responsible for meals, travel, and/or lodging)

Deadline:

Instructor(s): George Williams

Remarks: To register for this course, go to http://www.cuttingedgetraining.org/ or call 360-671-2007

 

NOTE- This course does not qualify as a replacement for the Idaho POST Basic Handgun Instructor Course. In order to be an Idaho POST High Liability Certified Firearms Instructor, you must complete the Idaho POST Instructor Development Course and the Idaho POST Basic Handgun Instructor Course prior to instructor application with Idaho POST.

R2 124 EVOC IN-SERVICE TRAINING

Course Number:   124

Description:  EVOC In-service training

11-August 2022_EVOC In-Service_Easy Drift

Emergency Vehicle Operations is one of the most dangerous and litigious disciplines within law enforcement. The skills required to remain proficient are extremely perishable and must be regularly practiced. This course will introduce EVOC Instructors to the EASYDRIFT Driver Training System (DTS). EASYDRIFT is a completely new and revolutionary product that was primarily designed to save lives, by teaching people the physics of driving. EASYDRIFT is a new concept that replicates very low grip conditions without altering the vehicle’s dynamics. The patented EASYDRIFT Driver Training System is composed of a specific designed ring that slides over the tire. It is made of a very high-tech nylon-based polymer.

This 8-hour block of instruction is an instructor certification course—

This course is designed for law enforcement EVOC Instructors who need continuing training/education to maintain their High Liability Instructor Endorsement. However, Non-Instructors will be allowed to attend if there are available seats.

Pre-requisites for attendance 

  • Basic LEO certification
  • EVOC Instructors will be given priority
  • Open seats will go to LEO end-user

Dates:  August 11, 2022

Time:    0800-1700

Credit Hours:  8

Location:

Idaho POST Academy
700 South Stratford Drive
Meridian, Idaho

Cost:        $80.00      Payable to Idaho POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)

Deadline:   August 1, 2022
Register early. This class is limited to 12 participants.

POST Instructors:  EVOC Instructors—Dale Morehouse & Sean Lethbridge  

POST Coordinator:    Jeff Sklar 208-509-2797

Registration: Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.

Remarks:

This course will fill quickly. Please register early!

For dorm room reservations please contact Tammy Kelly (208) 884-7292 or tamara.kelly@post.idaho.gov

For cafeteria information please call (208) 884-7287.

R2 124 EVOC IN-SERVICE TRAINING

Course Number:   124

Description:  EVOC In-service training

12-August 2022_EVOC In-Service_Easy Drift

Emergency Vehicle Operations is one of the most dangerous and litigious disciplines within law enforcement. The skills required to remain proficient are extremely perishable and must be regularly practiced. This course will introduce EVOC Instructors to the EASYDRIFT Driver Training System (DTS). EASYDRIFT is a completely new and revolutionary product that was primarily designed to save lives, by teaching people the physics of driving. EASYDRIFT is a new concept that replicates very low grip conditions without altering the vehicle’s dynamics. The patented EASYDRIFT Driver Training System is composed of a specific designed ring that slides over the tire. It is made of a very high-tech nylon-based polymer.

This 8-hour block of instruction is an instructor certification course—

This course is designed for law enforcement EVOC Instructors who need continuing training/education to maintain their High Liability Instructor Endorsement. However, Non-Instructors will be allowed to attend if there are available seats.

Pre-requisites for attendance 

  • Basic LEO certification
  • EVOC Instructors will be given priority
  • Open seats will go to LEO end-user

Dates:  August 12, 2022

Time:    0800-1700

Credit Hours:  8

Location:

Idaho POST Academy
700 South Stratford Drive
Meridian, Idaho

Cost:        $80.00      Payable to Idaho POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)

Deadline:   August 2, 2022
Register early. This class is limited to 12 participants.

POST Instructors:  EVOC Instructors—Dale Morehouse & Sean Lethbridge  

POST Coordinator:    Jeff Sklar 208-509-2797

Registration: Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.

Remarks:

This course will fill quickly. Please register early!

For dorm room reservations please contact Tammy Kelly (208) 884-7292 or tamara.kelly@post.idaho.gov

For cafeteria information please call (208) 884-7287.

R1 306 POST Basic Firearms Instructor – Coeur D Alene

Course Number:   R1 306

Description:  BASIC FIREARMS (Handgun only) INSTRUCTOR COURSE

This is the P.O.S.T. Approved BASIC FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR COURSE for LE personnel interested in becoming a P.O.S.T. Certified Firearms INSTRUCTOR.  Upon completion of this course attendees should have the skills necessary to instruct officers.  Completion of this course is required for the high liability endorsement required for P.O.S.T. Basic Handgun Instructor certification.

This course will cover the new curriculum changes made to the Firearms Instructor Program.  Participants will conduct presentations, pass performance skills testing, pass a written exam, and exit qualifications.  It is strongly recommended that students review the Instructor Development Course materials prior to attending this course as questions from the written Instructor Development Course training material will also be included in the tests.

NOTE: THERE IS NO REMEDIAL TRAINING TIME.

Any Student with repeated safety violations will receive a failure.  Any failure in the course will result in removal from the class.

Registration PREREQUISITES, (not subject to waiver)

  • 3 YEARS Full-time law enforcement experience
  • Possess a current or previous POST Discipline Certification
    • i.e. Patrol, Detention, Corrections, etc.
  • Successful completion of POST 40 hour INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT
  • Perform 100% of the physical requirements of this course. Injured students will not be permitted to attend or complete the course.

COURSE REQUIREMENTS for all students

  • TEST IN with a qualifying score of at least 95% NO MISSES on the POST Firearms short course.
  • Maximum of 3 attempts to qualify at test in and test out.
  • All test in failures will be dismissed from the class.
  • 100% Attendance is required for completion of this 40-hour course
  • TEST OUT with successful completion of the written exam and exit qualifications.

WRITTEN TEST INFORMATION– The written test will come from the student manual. Students attending this class must download the student manual prior to the class. Download the student manual here –Student Manual Link

There is no allowance for later make-up qualification attempts on the exit qualification. If a student fails the exit qualification- they fail the course. There will be no make-up written testing exams either. Failure to pass the written exam results in a failure of this course.

For test-in failures only there will be an $ 80.00 fee assessed for costs related to the first day. If the course tuition invoice has been paid, a tuition credit less the $80.00 fee will be issued.

For any other failure resulting in dismissal the full tuition cost will remain due; no refund or tuition rebate will be available.

This course DOES NOT cover shotgun. Shotgun instructor training is provided through the new POST Shotgun Instructor Course, which is a separate 3 day course.

Dates: April 18 – 22, 2022

Time:    0800-1700

Credit Hours:    40

Location:

Idaho State Police
District 1  Training Room
615 W. Wilbur Ave.
Coeur d’Alene  Idaho  83815

Range
23212 N. Old Highway 95
Athol,  Idaho  83801

 

Cost:       $ 400.00                Payable to Idaho POST
            (Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)

Deadline:   April 10, 2022 – 11:30 PM     20  students maximum

Master Instructors:

Johann Schmitz,   CDA PD
Justin Scotch,         ISP
Steve Harris,           CDA Retd

Instructors:

 

Registration : Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.

Remarks:

Students will be expected to dress in clothing appropriate for weather conditions.

  • Range clothing should be suitable for carrying extra ammunition.
  • Clothing should be suitable for tactical movement.
  • Knee pads are recommended but not required.
  • Shorts are not allowed.

Students will be required to bring the following:

  • Eye and ear protection
  • Ballistic Vest
  • a tourniquet*
  • Appropriate clothing for various weather conditions (rain, cold, etc.)
  • A billed cap of some type
  • Duty leather, holster, magazine pouches
  • Duty handgun and a minimum of 4 magazines
  • 1,500 rounds of practice ammunition for duty weapon
  • Duty flashlight
  • 3 ring binder, note taking materials and a black felt tip marker

*Students will receive training in the application and use of a tourniquet.  Students will participate in drills applying the tourniquet to themselves and fellow students, so a training tourniquet instead of an operational one may be preferable, however, that is the students choice.

R4 POST Firearms Instructor- Pocatello

Course Number: R4 306

Description:

BASIC HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR COURSE

This is the P.O.S.T. Approved BASIC HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR COURSE for LE personnel interested in becoming a P.O.S.T. Certified Firearms INSTRUCTOR.  Upon completion of this course attendees should have the skills necessary to instruct officers.  Completion of this course is required for the high liability endorsement required for P.O.S.T. Basic Handgun Instructor certification.

This course will cover the new curriculum changes made to the Firearms Instructor Program.  Participants will conduct presentations, pass performance skills testing, pass a written exam, and exit qualifications.  It is strongly recommended that students review the Instructor Development Course materials prior to attending this course as questions from the written Instructor Development Course training material will also be included in the tests.

Any Student with repeated safety violations will receive a failure.  Any failure in the course will result in removal from the class.

Registration PREREQUISITES, (not subject to waiver)

  • 3 YEARS Full-time law enforcement experience
  • Possess a current or previous POST Discipline Certification
    • i.e. Patrol, Detention, Corrections, etc.
  • Successful completion of POST 40 hour INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT
  • Perform 100% of the physical requirements of this course. Injured students will not be permitted to attend or complete the course.

COURSE REQUIREMENTS for all students

  • TEST IN with a qualifying score of at least 95% NO MISSES on the POST Firearms short course.
  • Maximum of 3 attempts to qualify at test in and test out. NOTE: THERE IS NO REMEDIAL TRAINING TIME IF YOU DO NOT QUALIFY WITHIN THE 3 CONSECUTIVE ATTEMPTS, YOU WILL BE REMOVED FROM THE CLASS.
  • All test in failures will be dismissed from the class.
  • 100% Attendance is required for completion of this 40-hour course
  • The Firearms Instructor Student Pre-Course Checklist must be completed and turned into the Master Instructor at the beginning of the first day.
  • TEST OUT with successful completion of all performance and testing requirements.

Firearms_Instructor_Student_Information_Sheet

Firearms_Inst_Student_Pre-Course_Checklist

WRITTEN TEST INFORMATION– The written test will come from the student manual. Students attending this class must download the student manual prior to the class. Download the student manual here –Student Manual Link

There is no allowance for later make-up performance testing, or qualifications. If a student fails any portion of the performance or qualification testing- they fail the course. There will be no make-up written testing exams either. Failure to pass the written exam results in a failure of this course.

For test-in failures only your agency may be refunded for the remainder of the class, but will not be refunded for Day One.

For any other failure resulting in dismissal the full tuition cost will remain due; no refund or tuition rebate will be available.

This course DOES NOT cover shotgun.

Dates: May 2-6, 2022

Time: 0800-1700

Credit Hours: 40

Location: Pocatello Police Department 911 N. 7th Ave., Pocatello, ID 83201

Cost:       $ 400.00                Payable to POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)

Deadline: Friday, April 22, 2022

POST Master Instructor:   Jeff Eldridge

POST Instructors:   Shane Manning, Matt Bloodgood, other instructors as needed

Registration Details: Click the registration link below

NOTE:

Attendance at this training does not guarantee Instructor certification and endorsement.  To obtain a POST certified instructor endorsement in this High Liability discipline additional training requirements must be met.  Please refer to the document link below.

https://post.idaho.gov//wp-content/uploads/sites/19/documents/forms/I//High%20Liability%20Endorsement%20Instructor%20Requirements.pdf

Remarks:

*Students will receive training in the application and use of a tourniquet.  Students will participate in drills applying the tourniquet to themselves and fellow students, so a training tourniquet instead of an operational one may be preferable, however, that is the students choice.

R4-309 Instructor Development- Idaho Falls

Course Number: R4 309

Description:

This class is required for any person who wishes to become a POST certified instructor.

The new course curriculum covers adult learning, building thinking skills in students, para-language, assessing student understanding of class material, and writing lesson plans. Each Student will be videotaped for self-evaluation.

All registration applications will be vetted by POST for approval to attend this training. Once an applicant has been vetted, an e-mail will be sent to the applicant confirming registration and providing the links necessary for completing the pre-requisite course.

It is vital that the applicant provide a valid and correct e-mail address on the on-line registration form.

 

Pre-requisites for attendance:

      • Must be employed with an Idaho Law Enforcement Agency
      • Completion of the required on-line training prior to class start date

NOTE:

POST has changed the policy requiring 3 years of LE experience to attend the Instructor Development class. However the following registration priority policy will be followed:

All applicants with three (3) years of LE experience and/or POST certification will have registration priority over any applicant with less than three (3) years LE experience regardless of when the registration was received.

If the LE experience is with an agency out of state the following documentation is required:

      • a copy of your previous POST record which shows years of service
      • or a letter from the previous Agency Head (on Agency letterhead) verifying years of service including the hire date and separation date

Any registration request that does not meet the 3 year minimum LE experience or does not have a POST certification will be placed on a waiting list to be registered on the registration closing date if seats remain available.

 

Participants are required to bring to this class certain equipment and presentations:

  • A laptop or other electronic media device with a USB port.
  • The Instructor development manual either as a hard copy or downloaded on a media device
  • A device equipped to video record a 2-3 minute presentation for self-evaluation (i.e. camera, iPhone, iPad etc)
  • Materials needed for your classroom presentation

Please note that POST will no longer provide printed classroom manuals to participants in this course. It is the participants responsibility to download the class instruction sheet and classroom manual, links are provided throughout this announcement.

COURSE MATERIALS DOWNLOAD LINKS ARE SHOWN BELOW.

Course Pre-read Download

Classroom Handouts

Class Information and the Instructor Development classroom Manual


Dates: April 11-15, 2022

Time:    0800-1700

Credit Hours:   40

Location:   

Idaho Falls Police Department
Training Annex,
740 Park Ave.,
Idaho Falls, ID 83402

 

 Cost:     $ 300.00       Payable to Idaho POST
          (Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)


Deadline:
registration will close March 25, 2022
NOTE CLASSES FILL QUICKLY – this class is limited to 24 participants.

 

Lead Instructor:  Master Instructor Jason Hendrian

Instructors:           Chris Hendry

POST Coordinator:   Matt Bloodgood

Registration Details: Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.

Remarks:

ALL PARTICIPANTS MUST BE VETTED BY POST before registration is completed.

PARTICIPANTS MUST DOWNLOAD THE COURSE MATERIALS, LINKS ARE PROVIDED THROUGHOUT THIS ANNOUNCEMENT.

Once vetted for attendance the PARTICIPANT MUST COMPLETE THE PRE-REQUISITE COURSE WORK PRIOR TO THE BEGINNING OF CLASS. The LINK FOR THE PRE-COURSE WORK will be sent by e-mail to the student after the registration has been approved.

ALL PARTICIPANTS WILL BE REQUIRED TO WEAR MASKS AND MAINTAIN SOCIAL DISTANCING AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE DURING THIS CLASS.