- This event has passed.
R2 306 POST Firearms Instructor – Kuna
Course Number: R2 306
Description: BASIC FIREARMS (Handgun only) INSTRUCTOR COURSE
This is the P.O.S.T. Approved BASIC FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR COURSE for LE personnel interested in becoming a P.O.S.T. Certified Firearms INSTRUCTOR. Upon completion of this course attendees should have the skills necessary to instruct officers. Completion of this course is required to obtain the P.O.S.T Firearms Instructor endorsement. However, completion of this course does not guarantee the issuance of the Firearms High Liability endorsement.
This course includes the 2023 curriculum changes made to the Firearms Instructor Program. Participants will conduct presentations, participate in group testing, technique demonstrations, and must pass key performance indicator testing which may include timed skills tests and exit performance measures testing, such as a qualification course. Students will be required to run and sprint, assume low profile positions (kneeling, prone), shoot from unusual positions, and be able to work around barricades and other obstacles such as vehicles.
NOTE: THERE IS NO REMEDIAL TRAINING TIME. Students who fail any portion of the course will be dismissed and the full tuition cost will remain due; no refund or tuition rebate will be available.
Registration PREREQUISITES, (not subject to waiver)
- 3 YEARS Full-time law enforcement experience
- Possess a current or previous POST Discipline Certification
- i.e. Patrol, Detention, Corrections, etc.
- Successful completion of POST 40 hour INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT or POST approved equivalent.
- Successful completion of the POST Basic Handgun Instructor Online Pre-Course training; no more than 30 days prior to the course start.
- Successful completion of the POST Tac-Med training or a TCCC training equivalent. Other medical training may be approved on a case-by-case basis.
COURSE REQUIREMENTS for all students
- Students will be required to properly demonstrate basic handgun handling skills via a low stakes entry qualification test on the first day of training to include:
- Tactical and speed loading
- Shooting on the move
No remedial training will be provided. This test will not be scored, but failure to meet minimal safety and performance requirements will result in dismissal from the course.
- Provide a copy of the Firearms Instructor Student Pre-Course Checklist to the Range Master on the first day of class. Failure to present this document will result in dismissal from the course.
- Students must bring hard copies of all lesson plans and other reading materials presented in the online course to the range portion of the course.
- Be able to sprint and run with a handgun in a safe manner
- Be able to demonstrate prone and other unusual positions
- Successfully complete range and classroom teach-back assignments
- Demonstrate safe weapon handling and management
- Successfully complete daily quizzes or other assignments
- Pass all written testing and handgun proficiency testing
- Perform 100% of the physical requirements of this course. Injured students will not be permitted to attend or complete the course.
Dates: September 11-15, 2023
Credit Hours: 40
14601 Pleasant Valley Road
Kuna, Idaho 83634
Cost: $ 625.00 Payable to Idaho POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)
Deadline: September 4, 2023
POST Master Instructor: M. “Boots” Chamberlain
Registration Details: Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.
This course DOES NOT cover shotgun.