- This event has passed.
R3 328T TAC-MED INSTRUCTOR – Kimberly
Course Number: R3 328T
POST developed a 40-hour Tactical Medicine (TACMED) instructor curriculum for those wishing to instruct the Basic POST-approved 16-hour TCCC Course. The course is designed to provide instructors with the acceptable TCCC standard of training within the State of Idaho. Students will complete the standard 16-hour basic course including a performance evaluation test-out. Students will then teach back the entire block of instruction including scenarios to Instructor Cadre.
This course is designed to prepare law enforcement professionals for medical situations requiring a tactical solution. At the end of the training, students will be able to apply first aid treatment within the principles of TCCC and save preventable deaths without causing further causalities to team members. Given a tactical mission, the student will be able to assess and recognize a life-threatening injury, provide effective treatment and extricate the casualty from a hostile fire scenario while maintaining cover and effectively utilizing tactical movement strategies.
The instructor cadre is a mix of law enforcement and military professionals that are skilled in the practical application of TCCC. This is an extremely hands-on, performance-based block of instruction that is very physically demanding. Participants will be required to lift, drag and carry personnel throughout the entire block of training. Participants will also be placing tourniquets on themselves and others utilizing proper application techniques.
Participants must test out via a performance evaluation and also conduct several teach-backs to successfully complete this block of instruction. Only 1 retest will be allowed after remediation training.
Pre-requisites for attendance
- Must have 3 years of full time Law Enforcement experience
- have completed the Idaho POST Instructor Development class or a POST approved Out of State equivalent
- Registration applications will be vetted by POST for approval to attend Registrations not meeting the pre-requisites will not be approved
Students should bring the following to class—
- Utility-type clothing that you don’t mind getting dirty
- Duty Belt
Dates: February 6 – 10, 2023
Credit Hours: 40
Rock Creek Fire Station
1558 Main Street
Kimberly, Idaho 83341
Cost: $ 500.00 Payable to Idaho POST
(Tuition does not include meals, travel, and/or lodging)
Deadline: NOTE CLASSES FILL QUICKLY – this class is limited to 24 participants.
Instructors: POST Academy Staff
POST Coordinator: Jeff Sklar 208-509-2797
Registration Details: Use the REGISTRATION LINK provided below.
For information regarding the training facility or local accommodations: contact Sgt. Sjuni Bunderson , Kimberly Hansen PD; email email@example.com or call 208-423-4153 ext. 21