Official Government Website


Idaho POST Council

The POST Council members represent law enforcement and organizations within the law enforcement community.Our principle purpose is to establish and enforce the training, education, and employment standards of peace officers. Members are appointed by the Governor and serve for a four-year term. Members receive no compensation but may be reimbursed for travel and per diem expenses. Appointment to the Council is considered an honor. Members are conscientious and work hard for the refinement of law enforcement in our state.


Jeff Lavey

Jeff A. Lavey (Chairman)
Chief of Police
Meridian Police Department
1401 East Watertower Street
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 846-7370


Lorin Nielsen

Lorin Nielsen (Vice Chairman)
Bannock County Sheriff’s Office
P.O. Box 4666
Pocatello, ID 83205-4666
Phone: (208) 236-7111


Jan Bennetts

Jan Bennetts
Prosecuting Attorney
Ada County Prosecutor’s Office
200 West Front Street, Rm. 3191
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: (208) 287-7700


James Fry

James Fry, Jr.
Chief of Police
Moscow Police Department
Moscow, ID 83843
Phone: (208) 883-7054


Shaun Gough

Shaun Gough
Gooding County Sheriff’s Office
624 Main Street
Gooding, ID 83330
Phone: (208) 934-4422


Seth Grigg

Seth Grigg
Executive Director
Idaho Association of Counties
P.O. Box 1623
Boise, ID 83701
Phone: (208) 345-9126


Open Position

Open Position
Executive Director
Association of Idaho Cities
3100 South Vista Ave., Ste. 310
Boise, ID 83705
Phone: (208) 344-8594


Doug Hart

Doug Hart
Federal Bureau of Investigation
877 West Main Street, Suite 404
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: (208) 344-7843


Monty Prow

Monty Prow
Idaho Dept. of Juvenile Corrections
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0285
Phone: (208) 334-5100 Ext. 254


Josh Tewalt

Josh Tewalt
Idaho Department of Correction
1299 North Orchard Street
Boise, ID 83706
Phone: (208) 658-2139


Shane Turman

Shane Turman
Chief of Police
Rexburg Police Department
P.O. Box 280
Rexburg, ID 83440
Phone: (208) 359-3008


Ked Wills

Kedrick Wills
Idaho State Police
700 South Stratford Drive
Meridian, ID 83642-6206
Phone: (208) 884-7003


Ben Wolfinger

Ben Wolfinger
Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office
5500 North Government Way
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814
Phone: (208) 446-1300


Gregory Wooten

Greg Wooten
Chief of Enforcement
Idaho Department of Fish & Game
600 South Walnut St.
Boise, ID 83712
Phone: (208) 334-3736

Colleen Zahn

Colleen Zahn
Chief, Criminal Law Division
Attorney General’s Office
700 West State Street, 4th Floor
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-4157


ver: 1.0.0 | last updated: